How to Reset Netgear Routers

Popular Netgear routers, like others, need to be reset to factory defaults. We’ll tell you how to do it.

Reset your Netgear wireless router if it malfunctions and causes your Internet connection to drop regularly. You can reset the device by pressing the Restore Factory Settings button or by accessing its Web interface. Use the Restore Factory Settings button if you can’t visit to the Web user interface. A factory reset restores all of the router’s settings to default values and erases all modifications, and you will not be able to recover them.

Accessing the Web Interface

You can open http://www.routerlogin.net or http://www.routerlogin.com to access the Web user interface. If the URLs don’t open the Web user interface, type 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1 into your browser’s address bar and press Enter.

How to Reset Netgear Routers

The URL or IP address of some Netgear routers is printed on a label on the back of the device. If the default IP addresses and URLs don’t work, you can use the Command Prompt to find the correct IP.

  1. Press Windows-X to display the Power User menu in Windows and choose Command Prompt to open the energy.
  2. Type ipconfig into the Command Prompt and press Enter to get comprehensive information about the network.
  3. Find the router’s IP address in the Default Gateway section and use it to access the Web user interface.

Type the username and Netgear router password into the User Name and Password fields. The default username on Netgear routers is admin and the default password is password or 1234.

You can find more information here.

Restoring Settings from the Web

If you don’t understand the correct username or password for the router’s control board, you should reset the router using the Restore Factory Settings button. Otherwise, select Backup Settings from the Maintenance area of the left tab and after that click the Erase button in the Revert to Factory Default Settings area to reset the Netgear router.

Some routers do not trigger you to verify your action, and reset immediately– bring back all settings to defaults and erasing all customizations. If you’re triggered, nevertheless, click OK to verify.

The Power LED starts to blink and the router restarts when the reset is total. You can access the router when the Power LED turns solid green.

Using Factory Restore Button

Many Netgear routers, including WNDR3300, WNR3500, WGT624, WPN824, DGN2000 and N300, have a Restore Factory Settings button recessed into the case, on the back of the device.

You can use a paperclip to push the Restore Factory Settings button and hold it for at least seven seconds– or till the Power LED starts to– to reset the router. Do not put in excessive pressure on the Restore Factory Settings button to avoid harming it and voiding your router’s guarantee. The device reboots after the reset is total.

Keep in mind that the DGN2000 and DG834Gv5 routers don’t have a Restore Factory Settings button. To reset them, you’ll need hold the Wireless On/Off and WPS buttons for a minimum of 6 seconds– or till the Power LED light starts to blink.

Other Netgear Router Reset Considerations

You can discover directions on how to reset your Netgear router design in the user manual that came with the device. Download the user manual from the Netgear Support site if you don’t have the paper copy.

You don’t require to reset the router to find or change the password of the wireless network. You can change your Netgear password from the Web interface.