How to Delete Your Instagram Account Or Temporarily Deactivate It

How to Delete Your Instagram Account Or Temporarily Deactivate It

Fed up with Instagram or need to take a time-out from it? You can deactivate your Instagram account momentarily or you can delete your Instagram account totally. Follow these in-depth directions to see exactly how to do either one.

1. Temporarily Disable Your Account: Access Instagram in a Desktop or Mobile Web Browser

Temporarily Disable Your Account: Access Instagram in a Desktop or Mobile Web Browser

Tip: All Instagram users have the practical option of briefly disabling their account so that it’s completely hidden, yet still restorable. This is a good choice for individuals who require a long time to think of whether they truly want all of their Instagram info taken offline permanently. An extra alternative to disabling or erasing is to merely limit access to your profile by making your Instagram profile personal.

If you’re prepared to temporarily disable your account, you’ll need to gain access to Instagram from the desktop web, or a mobile web internet browser at the very least. Grab your laptop, home computer, tablet, or smartphone and open up your favored web browser (Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or other).

Note: Instagram does not currently let users disable their accounts from within the app. This is presumably for security purposes.

Type Instagram.com into the URL field and struck Enter or Go. The Instagram homepage will appear, and you need to see a button on the page that states “Log in.” If you’re accessing it from a mobile phone, it will be at the bottom of your screen.

Click or tap it and log in to your Instagram account with your username and password.

2. Briefly Disable Your Account: How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account

Briefly Disable Your Account: How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account

As soon as you visit, you’ll be taken straight to your home feed.

Whether you’re accessing it from the desktop or mobile web, you’ll see a profile icon in the bottom menu to the far right, similar to within the app. Click or tap it to be required to your profile.

Just underneath your profile information, you must see a big button that says Edit Profile. Click or tap it.

Scroll down to the bottom of the next page and try to find the blue link that states Temporarily disable my account. Click or tap on it.

3. Momentarily Disable Your Account: Select Your Reason For Disabling The Account

Momentarily Disable Your Account: Select Your Reason For Disabling The Account

Instagram will bring you to a page that provides you with a dropdown menu of alternatives to choose why you want to disable your account.

Click or tap the drop-down and choose the proper factor. Some suggested pointers will then appear in addition to a request to re-enter your password if you ‘d like to keep going.

Click or tap the huge blue Temporarily Disable Account button to disable the account. Click or tap to validate it if Instagram gives you a pop-up message (in case you clicked/tapped by mishap).

Instagram will bring you to a page to verify that your account has actually been momentarily handicapped. To reactivate it, you simply require to log back in again by means of Instagram.com.

Note: Don’t freak out if you disable your account however can’t get in after attempting to reactivate it by logging in again a couple of minutes later. If you attempt to log back in via the mobile web browser or app right away, you might receive a message saying, “We haven’t ended up disabling your account yet. If you want to reactivate it, try once again in a few hours.” You can just disable your account as soon as a week.

4. Completely Delete Your Account: How to Delete Your Instagram Account

Completely Delete Your Account: How to Delete Your Instagram Account

Note: Just like briefly disabling accounts, Instagram also does not let users delete their accounts from within the app. Once again, this is probably for security functions.

Instagram has a completely different link you require to access if you wish to permanently delete your account instead of briefly disable it.

You might be asked to log in to your account once again prior to you’re required to a “Delete Your Account” page with some notes about Instagram’s regards to service (TOS), a link to the alternative disabling alternative, and a drop-down menu of reasons you’re deleting your account.

Important: Deletion is permanent. You will never ever have the ability to restore your account and get all of your photos, videos, likes, remarks, or followers back. Even if you choose to erase whatever in the end, keep in mind that doing so does not imply your pictures and videos will be gone from the web forever. Anything and whatever you publish or upload to Instagram (and social media in general) is still available by the social media network itself.

To continue with the removal process, click or tap the dropdown menu and select your factor. You’ll be asked to re-enter your password before you can click or tap the big red Permanently deactivate my account button.

As soon as you’ve done that, Instagram will ask if you’re sure you want to go on. Click/tap OK if you’re sure and Instagram will bring you to a page validating that your account has been permanently deleted.

If you buy something through a link on this page, we may earn a small commission.

Morris T. Parson, Tech Support

Leading specialist in electronics and engineering. Author of dozens of articles on various topics from the world of hi-tech. Sound independent analysis of products, exploring new niches and global trends is his special passion.

Tech for Life
Leave a Reply